top of page

About St. Maarten / St. Martin

St. Maarten / St. Martin is located southeast of Puerto Rico, the smallest island in the world to be divided between two sovereign powers with its current boundary a resulting from the numerous wars between the Great European Powers in the 17th century. Ownership of the island is split between the Dutch and French, yet no rift exists between the peoples of these two cultures. In fact, the island's inhabitants are quite proud of over 350-year History of peaceful co-existence.

St. Maarten / St. Martin was sighted and named by Christopher Columbus in 1493, and originally inhabited by Amerindians at the time. Since 1648, both the French and Dutch have settled on the island, agreeing it would be better to divide the island rather than fight over it. The French occupy one side of the island which is referred to as St. Martin, while the Dutch occupy the other side referred to as Sint Maarten. It has remained an amained an amiable friendship for over 350 years. 

In nowadays St. Maarten / St. Martin  has become the most popular tourist destination in the Caribbean. 

A little History of St. Maarten

bottom of page